top of page
Search
  • bgblmy

Halfway Through Med School: Not so bad at all




Life as a medical student is tough, let’s get that right. Whatever you come across online talking about how awful our life is, I would say is most probably true. Well, at least for me during the past two years.


Every day, I spend almost 8 hours in university listening to lectures, looking at samples, practicing physical exam maneuvers and attending tutorials. After school hours, I spend another few more hours doing revision which involves me flipping through thick medical textbooks, making notes and watching random Indian guy explaining confusing concepts on YouTube. Sometimes, there are group assignments or presentations that I have to work on which leave me almost no time to sleep. On top of that, I need to grind for exams every two to three weeks which is insanely exhausting. Since I am only a second-year medical student, I do not have to go through hellish clinical rotation yet. Medical student life is indeed tiring.


However, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. As medical students, we do know how to enjoy ourselves, just so you know. I do not study twenty-four seven as if there is nothing else for me to do. I still hang out with friends at Starbucks pretending I am studying, go watch Avengers Endgame as soon as it is released, take post-workout pictures, queue up for Boba Tea at SS2 and etc. Also, I will choose one day per week as my “cheat day” which I spend my time doing whatever I want except studying. Usually, I will play the guitar, sleep to compensate for the sleepless night I had or watch some medical TV shows like The Good Doctor and Grey’s Anatomy to make myself feel less guilty. With good time management, having a balanced life as a medical student is not impossible.



Non-medical students often think we are zombies as we always look very tired due to packed schedules. That is not absolutely true. Sometimes, these zombies can be very lively especially when they are not studying. I do get myself involved in as many activities as possible inside and outside university because I believe learning can take place at any settings. I love community work a lot. During my two years in medical school, I have been on the streets to help the homeless people, visited children suffering from cancer and took them on a once in a lifetime hot air balloon ride, organized blood drives to help those who need continuous blood transfusion and more. Through these extra-curricular activities, I get to develop my soft skills and gain unforgettable experiences that will be beneficial in my career as a physician. I guess we zombies do have a bright side too.


Due to the high entry requirement, getting into medical school can be very difficult, let alone those prestigious ones. Hence, medical students are generally high achievers in school. This explains why medical school can be intimidating sometimes. However, there is no need to get so stressed about competition. Based on my experience, nobody is really trying to outdo anyone. I believe everyone is just trying to be the version of themselves. In fact, I have friends who are really supportive and they are not “kiasu” (overly competitive) at all. I enjoy exchanging knowledge with them and having fun together as long as we can all graduate and become doctors together. Just remember you are chosen for a reason and stop worrying about others being better than you. Just chill and do your best!



It is not uncommon for medical students to have short breaks because there is too much content to be delivered every semester. However, my university is different than most local public or private university. We follow the Irish system which means we have long summer and winter breaks. I really enjoy these long holidays as it gives me the opportunity to take part in beneficial activities without any academic stress. For instance, I have attended conferences, travelled to different countries and learned new skills from online courses. Currently, I am involved in a hospital-based research under University Malaya. I think I am really lucky to be blessed with long holidays during my journey as a medical student.


Halfway through my medical school journey, I have been through a lot of ups and downs but I never regretted my choice. I know there is still a long way to go and I cannot tell you how excited I am about it. Despite the so-called “awful” life, I personally think it is challenging and rewarding. It is really about passion if you ask me. If you have the same passion as I do, I invite you to come and join me on this tough but worthy journey.





I am currently a second year medical student studying in Perdana University - Royal College of Surgeons Ireland. I graduated from Royal Military College and completed my foundation in Asasi Sains Pertanian UPM. I love eating desserts, playing the guitar, travelling and collecting plushies.

96 views0 comments
bottom of page